You are here: Home  »  About the Council  »  The Elected Members



The elected members are the Mayor and Councillors. In Tauranga City we have one Mayor and ten Councillors.

This is a list of the Mayor and Councillors and this is an easily printed page for the Elected Members contacts.

The Code of Conduct (159kb pdf)  for the Elected Members.

The Council has several committees.

The elected members are responsible for employing the Chief Executive of the Council organisation. This person is their only employee.

Last Reviewed: 19/12/2013

Ward Councillors

Tauranga City Council uses 3 wards with two elected members in each, along with 4 Councillors elected 'At Large' (city wide) and 1 Mayor.

Ward Councillors:  Are those who represent a specific area of Tauranga City. Our City’s wards are split into areas of approximately the same size population. Click on the ward name below to view the map of the ward.

The wards and representatives are:


  • Mayor Stuart Crosby

Mt Maunganui/ Papamoa Ward

  • Cr. Steve Morris

Otumoetai/Pyes Pa Ward

  • Cr. Bev Edlin
  • Cr. Catherine Stewart

Te Papa/Welcome Bay Ward

  • Kelvin Clout
  • Bill Grainger

The Representatives At Large are:

  • Cr. Matt Cowley
  • Cr. Gail McIntosh
  • Cr. Rick Curach
  • Cr. John Robson

Last Reviewed: 26/02/2014