× Search

The elected members

By-election 2018

Tauranga City Council is holding a by-election in April to fill the position left vacant by the sad passing of Cr. Gail McIntosh. The by-election is for one at large position on council.

More information on the 2018 by-election

In Tauranga we have one Mayor and ten councillors, collectively called our elected members. 

The elected members are responsible for employing Council's chief executive, who is their only employee.

Elected Members Code of Conduct (115kb pdf)

Local Goverment Elected Members Determination
Local Government Elected Officials

Register of Pecuniary Interests and Expenses Claimed

Contact elected members

Email all elected members

To send a voicemail message to all elected members phone 07 985 6171 and leave a message.

Ward boundaries


On 4 January 2018, Cr Gail McIntosh sadly passed away after a short illness. Cr McIntosh was elected for her second term in October 2016 as a Councillor at Large. Cr McIntosh’s passing leaves a vacancy on the Council. We will share further information in due course.

Mayor and Councillors


Mayor Greg Brownless
Mayor Greg Brownless
Phone: 07 577 7016
Mobile: 020 412 27469
Email: greg.brownless@tauranga.govt.nz
Committee responsibilities

At large

One vacancy

Cr Max Mason
Cr. Max Mason
Phone: 07 5760454
Mobile: 021 049 7659
Email: max.mason@tauranga.govt.nz
Committee responsibilities
Cr Rick Curach
Cr. Rick Curach
Phone: 07 575 8048
Mobile: 021 934 186
Email: rick.curach@tauranga.govt.nz
Committee responsibilities
Cr. Kelvin Clout
Cr. Kelvin Clout (Deputy Mayor)
Phone: 07 578 3929
Mobile: 027 222 3771
Email: kelvin.clout@tauranga.govt.nz
Committee responsibilities

Mount Maunganui/Papamoa ward

Cr Steve Morris
Cr. Steve Morris
Phone: 07 542 1602
Mobile: 021 519 941
Email: steve.morris@tauranga.govt.nz
Committee responsibilities
Cr Leanne Brown
Cr. Leanne Brown
Mobile: 027 270 7892
Email: leanne.brown@tauranga.govt.nz 
Committee responsibilities


Otumoetai/Pyes Pa ward

Cr Larry Baldock
Cr. Larry Baldock
Phone: 07 543 0600
Mobile: 021 864833
Email: larry.baldock@tauranga.govt.nz
Committee responsibilities
Cr Catherine Stewart
Cr. Catherine Stewart
Phone: 07 576 5411
Mobile: 027 274 6160
Email: catherine.stewart@tauranga.govt.nz
Committee responsibilties

Te Papa/Welcome Bay ward

Cr Bill Grainger
Cr. Bill Grainger
Phone: 07 544 1417
Mobile: 027 415 5545
Email: bill.grainger@tauranga.govt.nz 
Committee responsibilities
Cr Terry Malloy
Cr. Terry Molloy
Phone: 07 579 5255
Mobile: 027 494 0296
Email: terry.molloy@tauranga.govt.nz
Committee responsibilities

Last Reviewed: 25/01/2018

Please enter the code shown
Enter the code shown above in the box below.

Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand   |  Terms of use   |  Site map

Back To Top