× Search

Latest news

Council confirms committee roles

Tauranga’s newly elected mayor and councillors have confirmed their roles on the council’s committees and how they will divide their pay pool.

At a Tauranga City Council meeting yesterday, the mayor and councillors confirmed the chair and deputy chair roles for each of the council’s committees.

These include:

Urban Form and Transport
Chair: Deputy Mayor Larry Baldock
Deputy chair: Heidi Hughes

Chair: Steve Morris
Deputy chair: Dawn Kiddie

Projects, Services and Operations
Chair: Kelvin Clout    
Deputy chair: Jako Abrie

Finance, Audit and Risk
Chair: Mayor Tenby Powell (interim)
Deputy chair: Tina Salisbury

All councillors and a tangata whenua representative will serve on each of these four committees.

Mayor Tenby Powell said the appointments set a positive platform for the future.

“This is an opportunity to create positive working relationships in our committees so we can better serve our community,” he said.

“Together, we can work towards the common goal of making Tauranga a better place for everyone.”

Also yesterday, the mayor and councillors voted on how to divide the pay pool that has been allocated to them by central government’s Remuneration Authority, which has increased the size of council pay pools across New Zealand.

The mayor and councillors decided that committee chairs and deputy chairs should receive a significantly larger proportion of the pool than the other councillors.

Posted: Nov 6, 2019,
Categories: General,

Theme picker

Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use  |  Site map

Back To Top