× Search

Tauranga has a sprinkler and irrigation system ban in place 


Latest news

Tauranga by-election notice countermanded

Electoral Officer Warwick Lampp has issued a public notice countermanding the earlier notice of by-election for the positions of Mayor of Tauranga City Council and Councillor for the Otumoetai-Pyes Pa Ward.

That follows the resignation of at-large Councillor Heidi Hughes this morning, with immediate effect. As a result, the Electoral Officer has exercised his authority under the Local Electoral Act 2001 and postponed the by-election.

Mr Lampp said the Act requires that the by-election process starts again, with nominations for the three vacant positions opening on Monday, 18 January 2021 and closing on Monday, 15 February 2021. Election day would then be Monday, 12 April 2021.

“However, if the Commission announced last week by the Minister of Local Government is appointed on 8 February 2021, as expected, the by-election would be cancelled before nominations close. That being the case, the postponement will save the city in the order of $250,000 in unnecessary expenditure.”

By-election candidates as at the close of nominations today are as follows.

Mayor of Tauranga: Brian Friend; Jos Nagels; Kelvin Clout and Greg Brownless.
Otumoetai-Pyes Pa Ward Councillor: Kim Williams and Murray Guy.

Those nominations will carry forward to the new process beginning on 18 January.

Posted: Dec 22, 2020,
Categories: General,

Theme picker


Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use  |  Site map

Back To Top