× Search

Tauranga has a sprinkler and irrigation system ban in place 


Latest news

Commissioners adopt interim committee structure

Tauranga City Council’s commissioners have adopted an interim committee structure which will see most of the Council’s standing committees disbanded, in the short-term.
At yesterday’s Council meeting – the first involving the Commission appointed by Local Government Minister, Hon. Nanaia Mahuta, earlier this month – the commissioners also amended the existing standing orders to remove the time limit on their speaking rights and moved to increase the availability of public forum speaking slots.
Chair Anne Tolley said the Commission wanted to hear from as many members of the community as possible as it worked towards the adoption of the city’s 2021-31 Long-term Plan.
“We’ll be going out to the community to hear what people want for their city and talk through the options in front of us,” she said. “As part of that process, we also want to make our public forums more accessible for more people, so the length of time available at the start of each Council meeting will be at the Chair’s discretion, with people representing organisations provided with a minimum five-minute speaking opportunity. It will be very informal though.”
Mrs Tolley said the Chair’s casting vote would be retained, but hoped that it would not be needed.
As a result of yesterday’s governance decisions, the Finance, Audit and Risk; Policy; Projects, Services and Operations; Urban Form and Transport Development; Regulatory; and Chief Executive’s Performance committees have all been discharged and the Commission will consider whether to establish further standing committees at a later date. However, Council meetings will be held more frequently, and as needed.
Meanwhile, the Tangata Whenua/Tauranga City Council Committee, City Plan Hearings Committee and Wastewater Management Review Committee will continue with the same terms of reference, but with new commissioner appointments to represent the Council.
Commissioner appointments have also been made to joint committees, including the Smartgrowth Leadership Group, Bay of Plenty Civil Defence Emergency Management Group, Te Maru o Kaituna (Kaituna River Authority), Regional Transport Committee and the Bay of Plenty Regional Council’s Public Transport Committee. Appointments to some key advisory groups were also confirmed.
Details of the new representation arrangements will be available on the Council website.


Posted: Feb 23, 2021,
Categories: General,

Theme picker


Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use  |  Site map

Back To Top