× Search

Disability advisory group

The disability advisory group works with Council to help make Tauranga accessible to everyone. The group was established in March 2014.

The group brings a passion and commitment to the rights of disabled people to be fully included and valued in city life. Members come with a diverse range of expertise and experience, and includes those who live with a disability, parents of disabled children, and disability advocates.

The key focus of the group is to undertake an advocacy and monitoring role in relation to the implementation of the Tauranga City Disability Strategy. This involves advising Council on the development and implementation of policies, projects, planning and service delivery which have an impact on the lives of disabled people.

Disability Strategy (94kb pdf)

The strategy talks about Council facilities and events, information, transport and the urban environment being accessible and enjoyed by everyone. The group meets six-weekly, and provides a key leadership and advocacy role to ensure that these outcomes are achieved.

Group members

Paul Curry (Chair), Kevin Edkins (Deputy Chair), Terese James, Ellie Griffin, Carol Ririnui, Peter Gibson, Maunsell Maxwell, Nikki Moloney, Bryce McFall, Denise Bethell, Stacey Roche, Narissa Siemonek, Yi Liang Small and Max Hales.

For question about the disability advisory group or anything disability related, contact Dani Jurgeleit.

Last Reviewed: 12/12/2017

Disability minutes

Disability Advisory Group meeting 8/06/2017 10:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Disability Advisory Group meeting 27/04/2017 10:00 a.m. - 12:10 p.m.
Disability Advisory Group meeting 16/03/2017 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Please enter the code shown
Enter the code shown above in the box below.

Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand   |  Terms of use   |  Site map

Back To Top