× Search

Tauranga has a sprinkler and irrigation system ban in place 



By-election 2021

By-elections cancelled

The 2021 by-elections for the positions of mayor, at-large councillor and Otumoetai-Pyes Pa councillor have been cancelled.

This follows the appointment of four commissioners to replace our mayor and councillors on 9 February 2021.

Local Government Minister Nanaia Mahuta says the commissioners will undertake Tauranga City Council’s governance responsibilities until the next local government elections in October 2022.

More information is available on the Governance section of our website.

By-election: January update

Local Government Minister Nanaia Mahuta has announced she will appoint a commission to replace Tauranga City Council’s mayor and councillors. This is expected to occur in February 2021.

Until the commission is formally appointed, we are obliged to continue with a by-election process to replace Mayor Tenby Powell, Otumoetai-Pyes Pa ward councillor Jako Abrie and at-large councillor Heidi Hughes.

We are legally required to notify the public about certain aspects of the by-election. To minimise costs, we will keep these notifications to the minimum required by legislation.

Once the commission is in place, the by-election will be cancelled.

December update: By-election postponed

Further notice of by-election (46kb pdf)

Media release - Tauranga by-election notice countermanded

Commission to be appointed to Tauranga City Council

Following the announcement by Hon Nanaia Mahuta, a commission will be appointed to perform and exercise the council’s governance responsibilities, duties and powers. The commission is expected to be appointed in early 2021. Until the commission is appointed, we need to continue with the by-election process.

Media release - Commission to be appointed to Tauranga City Council


We are holding a by-election in March/April 2021 to find:

  • a new mayor
  • a new councillor to represent the Otumoetai/Pyes Pa ward
  • a new citywide councillor (at large)

Key facts

In October 2019, the people of Tauranga elected a mayor and 10 councillors to represent them at Tauranga City Council for the next three years.

In October 2020, Councillor Jako Abrie resigned from Council. Jako was one of two councillors elected to represent the Otumoetai/Pyes Pa ward.

In November 2020, Mayor Tenby Powell resigned.

In December 2020, Councillor Heidi Hughes resigned. Heidi was one of four councillors elected to represent the city at large.

This by-election is being held to find a new mayor and two new councillors.

Last Reviewed: 15/02/2021

Key dates

Dates for the March/April by-election will be provided early in 2021.

Enrol to vote

Enrol to vote

You need to be enrolled to vote in the 2021 by-election.

2019 Candidates


Find out who’s standing for Council in the by-election.



We will use the STV voting system for the by-election.

Ward boundaries

Ward boundaries

Tauranga City is divided into three wards. Find the Otumoetai-Pyes Pa boundary.

Stand for council

Stand for Council

Information for candidates.

Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use  |  Site map

Back To Top