× Search

Additional security measures

We are aware that some customers are having issues making payments online. This is due to Visa and Mastercard now enforcing two-factor authentication on all payments in order to increase security.

If you are having issues making an online payment, please contact your bank.

Do it online


Utu a koromatua me ngā kaikaunihera

Mayor and councillors' remuneration

The mayor and councillors are classified as self-employed, and are paid an annual salary and expenses.

Crown Commission

On 9 February 2021, a Crown Commission appointed by the Minister of Local Government took over all of the council’s governance responsibilities, initially for a term until October 2022.

Local Government Minister Nanaia Mahuta has reappointed the existing four commissioners for a new commission term running from 26 April 2022 through until July 2024, when the next local election for Tauranga City Council will be held. 

The information below relates to governance of the council prior to the appointment of commissioners.

The Remuneration Authority determines the mayor’s salary and makes a separate determination on the total size of the councillors’ remuneration pool. This is based on factors including population size. The councillors decide how the pool will be split between them, while considering additional responsibilities such those in the table below.

In some years, councillors opted not to be paid the whole amount in the pool. However, the Authority has since ruled that the full amount must be paid to councillors.

In May 2020, new legislation was introduced in response to Covid-19 which allows the Authority to reduce the remuneration in some circumstances for up to six months.

The remuneration changed on 17 June 2020 as a result of changes to the governance structure and the appointment of a new deputy mayor on 2 June 2020. The new remuneration has also been reduced temporarily from 9 July 2020 to 6 January 2021 in response to COVID-19.

Annual remuneration

  October 2022 - 30 June 2023 1 July 2022 - October 2022 1 July 2021 - 30 June 2022 Oct/Nov 2019 - 30 June 2020 2019/20 2017/18
Mayor $172,918 $168,831 $166,500 $166,500 $121,899 $115,849
Deputy mayor To be determined by council from remuneration pool of $1,198,246 $123,788 $122,079 $139,563 $60,353 $56,215
Committee chairperson (3) To be determined by council from remuneration pool of $1,198,246 $116,253 $114,648 $121,276 $50,296 46,847
Deputy chairperson of standing committee (4) To be determined by council from remuneration pool of $1,198,246 $109,795 $108,279 $108,763    
Councillor (with no additional responsibilities) (2) To be determined by council from remuneration pool of $1,198,246 $107,642 $106,156 $96,251 $33,529 $31,230
Councillor (minimum allowable remuneration) $84,566 $79,538 $78,440      

More information on local government remuneration and the determinations is available on the Remuneration Authority’s website.


Remuneration - from 17 June 2020

Temporary reduction - 9 July 2020 to 6 January 2021

Reduction - Per elected member

Reduction %
Mayor Tenby Powell $166,500 $158,175 $8,325 5%
Deputy Mayor Tina Salisbury $121,472 $115,399 $6,073 5%

Chairpersons of standing committees (3)

  • Cr Larry Baldock
  • Cr Kelvin Clout
  • Cr Steve Morris
$114,078 $108,375 $5,703 5%
Deputy chairperson 
Projects, Services and Operations Committee (1)
Cr Jako Abrie
$107,740 $105,871 $1,869 1.735%

Deputy chairpersons of standing committees (3)

  • Cr Heidi Hughes
  • Cr Dawn Kiddie
  • Cr John Robson
$107,740 $103,871 $3,869 3.59%

Councillor with no additional responsibilities (2)

  • Cr Bill Grainger
  • Cr Andrew Hollis
$105,628 $102,814 $2,814 2.665%

 From the 2019 elections to 30 June 2020, the councillors’ pool was $1,105,920 per annum.

Expenses claimed

Mayor and councillors' expense claims 2019-2022 (175kb pdf)

Mayor and councillors' expense claims 2018-2019 (443kb pdf)

The Elected Members Expenses and Resources Policy 2020 sets out the expenses and allowances the mayor and councillors may claim in undertaking their role.

Elected Members Expenses and Resources Policy 2020

Mayoral credit card spend

No credit card has been issued to Mayor Tenby Powell since his appointment in October 2019.

2015-16 (22kb pdf) 
2014-15 (75kb pdf)
2013-14 (68kb pdf)
2013 (7kb pdf)
2012 (6kb pdf)
2011 (7kb pdf)
2010 (4kb pdf)

2016 and 2017

2016 and 2017 (10mb pdf)


March (163kb pdf)


May (54kb pdf)
April (55kb pdf)
February (67kb pdf)


December (69kb pdf)
November (52kb pdf)
Register of councillors expenses - Oct 2010-2013 (22kb pdf)
May (76kb pdf)


July (612kb pdf)

Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand |Terms of use|Privacy statement|Site map

Back To Top