× Search

COVID-19 information: Tauranga will move to Alert Level 2 from 12pm on Wednesday 12 August. Find out what's happening with our services, facilities, parks and venues.
For information on COVID-19 visit: covid19.govt.nz  |  Stay safe and be kind to one another - kia kaha Tauranga


Tangata whenua

Tauranga City Council works in partnership with tangata whenua to build, protect and celebrate our city, our environment and our people. 

The name Tauranga means safe anchor or resting place. Te Awanui, meaning 'big tributary', is the original name of the harbour. There are three main iwi living in the Tauranga Moana rohe: Ngati Ranginui, Ngai Te Rangi and Ngati Pukenga. We work with iwi, hapu and whanau across the area in various ways and forums.

Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use  |  Site map

Back To Top