× Search

Sprinkler and irrigation system ban now in place for Tauranga


Council committees

The mayor and councillors are involved in a variety of committees in Tauranga City Council, each with its own focus area and purpose.

The rules and procedures under which meetings are conducted are explained in the Standing Orders.

Council Governance Structure 2019-22 (93kb pdf)
Governance Structure and Terms of Reference Manual (1mb pdf) 
Standing orders (538kb pdf)

Everyone is welcome to attend Council and committee meetings. Meetings are usually held in Council Chambers at 91 Willow Street, Tauranga.

Council and committee meetings are open to the public unless there is a reason to consider items in ‘public excluded’. These items are confidential and members of the public and press will be asked to leave the room until discussion is completed.

A brief description of each committee, its purpose and chairs is available below. For the full details, please refer to the Terms of Reference Manual.

Tauranga City Council standing committees


  • To ensure the effective and efficient governance of the city
  • To enable leadership of the city including advocacy and facilitation on behalf of the community.

Chair: Mayor Tenby Powell

Deputy Chair: Larry Baldock

Shapes and manages the direction of growth of the city. Particular areas of focus include land availability and transport networks to support the growth of the city and sub-region. Also includes resilience and the development of the City Plan.

Chair: Larry Baldock

Deputy Chair: Heidi Hughes

Develops the framework that shapes the direction of the city and sub-region. Includes Long Term and Annual Plans, policies and bylaws. Also approves Council submissions to other organisations, changes to service delivery under s17A reviews and CCOs’ Statements of Intent and letter of expectation.

Chair: Steve Morris

Deputy Chair: Dawn Kiddie

Monitors, reviews and enables the progress of the council’s activities, projects and services. Monitors operational performance for three waters, transport/road closures, community services and facilities; and oversees economic development, regulation and compliance, project reporting and monitoring.

Chair: Kelvin Clout

Deputy Chair: Jako Abrie

Ensures risk management, internal controls and financial management practices, frameworks and processes are robust, appropriate and safeguard the council’s financial and non-financial assets. Monitors Council’s financial and non-financial performance, manages the treasury, develops the Annual Report, external and internal financial control and reporting, identifies and manages Council’s significant risks and manages legal risks.

Chair: Mayor Tenby Powell (interim)

Deputy Chair: Tina Salisbury


  • To ensure that the Council is being managed responsibility and to deliver the expected performance.


  • Review the Chief Executive’s performance
  • To negotiate terms and conditions of the CE’s employment including any performance agreement measures and annual remuneration in accordance with the Chief Executive’s Employment Agreement.

Chair: Mayor Tenby Powell

Deputy Chair: Larry Baldock


  • To enable effective decision making with regards to City and Private Plan Changes and other regulatory matters, through specific hearings and decision making.


  • City Plan Changes
  • Private Plan Changes
  • Other regulatory matters including (but not limited to) dog control matters and matters arising from the exercise of Council’s enforcement functions.

Chair: Steve Morris

Deputy Chair: Larry Baldock


  • To consider applications and matters as set out in the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.


  • Hear and/or determine matters of a quasi-judicial nature in accordance with the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.
  • Undertake all functions, duties and obligations as set out in the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 relevant to the District Licensing Committee

District Licensing Committee 1: Murray Clearwater

District Licensing Committee 2: Mary Dillon

District Licensing Committee 3: David Stewart

District Licensing Committee 4: Bev Edlin

Rapua te huarahi whanui hei ara whakapiri i nga iwi e rua i te whakaaro kotahi

Seek the broad highway that will unite the two peoples toward a common goal

Role and scope

  • To forge an ongoing effective and meaningful partnership between the Tauranga City Council and Tangata Whenua.
  • To facilitate meaningful understanding of future impacts on key issues affecting Tangata Whenua and Mäori that Council can influence.

Functions and key tasks

  • To bring to the other partner’s attention issues / concerns in respect of existing strategy or policy.
  • To exchange information of mutual interest.
  • To discuss new initiatives approaches and directions.
  • Agree agenda topics for the following 3 consecutive meetings.


Tauranga City Council and "nga hapu me nga iwi o Tauranga Moana" representing Tangata Whenua within the Tauranga City Council rohe (boundaries). Tangata Whenua representatives are to be those with signed hapu protocols. One of the six Tangata Whenua representatives is to be a Kaumatua. Kaumatua representation is to have the ability to be shared between two Kaumatua if required.


To ensure Wastewater operations are in accordance with the Wastewater Management Review Committee Management Plan.

Chair: Kelvin Clout

Deputy Chair TBC

The Committee has a membership of eight, four of whom are TCC councillors and four who are appointed as representatives of the Ngati Ranginui and Te Runanga o Ngaiterangi Iwi Trust and two members as representatives of the Nga Potiki Kaitiaki Resource Management Unit.

Joint committees

For details of membership, role and scope see the Governance Structure and Terms of Reference Manual above

Last Reviewed: 15/12/2020

Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand  |  Terms of use  |  Site map

Back To Top