× Search

Council committees

Crown Commission

On 9 February 2021, a Crown Commission appointed by the Minister of Local Government took over all of the council’s governance responsibilities.

The Commission is expected to be in place until the next local government elections in October 2022.

The Council is meeting more regularly while the commissioners consider how committees should be structured.

Each council committee has its own focus areas and purpose.

Standing and special committees Joint committees Advisory groups Regulatory Hearings Panel
City Plan Hearings Committee BOP Civil Defence and Emergency Management Group Nga Poutiriao o Mauao  
District Licensing Committee Public Transport Committee Tauranga Moana Advisory Group  
Tangata Whenua Committee Regional Transport Committee Waiari Kaitiaki Advisory Group  
Wastewater Management Review Committee SmartGrowth Leadership Group    
  Te Maru o Kaituna (Kaituna River Authroity    
Strategy, Finance and Risk Committee      


The rules and procedures under which meetings are conducted are explained in the Standing Orders.

Council Governance Structure 2021-22 (81kb pdf)
Governance Structure and Terms of Reference Manual (1mb pdf) 
Standing orders (538kb pdf)

Everyone is welcome to attend Council and committee meetings. Meetings are usually held in Council Chambers at 91 Willow Street, Tauranga.

Council and committee meetings are open to the public unless there is a reason to consider items in ‘public excluded’. These items are confidential and members of the public and press will be asked to leave the room until discussion is completed.

A brief description of each committee, its purpose and chairs is available below. For the full details, please refer to the Terms of Reference Manual.

Tauranga City Council standing committees

  • To ensure the effective and efficient governance of the city
  • To enable leadership of the city including advocacy and facilitation on behalf of the community.

Chair: Commissioner Anne Tolley

  • To enable effective decision making with regards to City and Private Plan Changes and other regulatory matters, through specific hearings and decision making.
  • City Plan Changes
  • Private Plan Changes
  • Other regulatory matters including (but not limited to) dog control matters and matters arising from the exercise of Council’s enforcement functions.

Chair: Commissioner Bill Wasley

  • To consider applications and matters as set out in the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.
  • Hear and/or determine matters of a quasi-judicial nature in accordance with the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012.
  • Undertake all functions, duties and obligations as set out in the Sale and Supply of Alcohol Act 2012 relevant to the District Licensing Committee

District Licensing Committee 1: Murray Clearwater

District Licensing Committee 2: Mary Dillon

District Licensing Committee 3: David Stewart

District Licensing Committee 4: Bev Edlin

Rapua te huarahi whanui hei ara whakapiri i nga iwi e rua i te whakaaro kotahi

Seek the broad highway that will unite the two peoples toward a common goal

Role and scope
  • To forge an ongoing effective and meaningful partnership between the Tauranga City Council and Tangata Whenua.
  • To facilitate meaningful understanding of future impacts on key issues affecting Tangata Whenua and Mäori that Council can influence.
Functions and key tasks
  • To bring to the other partner’s attention issues / concerns in respect of existing strategy or policy.
  • To exchange information of mutual interest.
  • To discuss new initiatives approaches and directions.
  • Agree agenda topics for the following 3 consecutive meetings.

Tauranga City Council and "nga hapu me nga iwi o Tauranga Moana" representing Tangata Whenua within the Tauranga City Council rohe (boundaries). Tangata Whenua representatives are to be those with signed hapu protocols. One of the six Tangata Whenua representatives is to be a Kaumatua. Kaumatua representation is to have the ability to be shared between two Kaumatua if required.


To ensure Wastewater operations are in accordance with the Wastewater Management Review Committee Management Plan.

Chair: To be appointed

Deputy Chair: Ms Matire Duncan - Nga Potiki

Commissioner Stephen Selwood
Commissioner Bill Wasley
Mr Whitiora McLeod - Ngai Te Rangi
Mr Carlton Bidios - Ngati Ranginui
Vacant - Nga Potiki (TBC)

The Committee has a membership of eight, four of whom are TCC councillors and four who are appointed as representatives of the Ngati Ranginui and Te Runanga o Ngaiterangi Iwi Trust and two members as representatives of the Nga Potiki Kaitiaki Resource Management Unit.


The role of the Strategy, Finance and Risk Committee (the Committee) is:

  1. to assist and advise the Council in discharging its responsibility and ownership of health and safety, risk management, internal control, financial management practices, frameworks and processes to ensure these are robust and appropriate to safeguard the Council’s staff and its financial and non-financial assets;
  2. to consider strategic issues facing the city and develop a pathway for the future;
  3. to monitor progress on achievement of desired strategic outcomes;
  4. to review and determine the policy and bylaw framework that will assist in achieving the strategic priorities and outcomes for the Tauranga City Council.

The Committee will consist of:

  • four commissioners with the Commission Chair appointed as the Chairperson of the Committee
  • the Chairperson of Te Rangapū Mana Whenua o Tauranga Moana
  • three tangata whenua representatives (recommended by Te Rangapū Mana Whenua o Tauranga Moana and appointed by Council)
  • an independent external person with finance and risk experience appointed by the Council.

Chairperson: Commission Chair Anne Tolley

Joint committees

For details of membership, role and scope see the Governance Structure and Terms of Reference Manual above

Last Reviewed: 29/06/2021

Tauranga City Council, Private Bag 12022, Tauranga, 3143, New Zealand |Terms of use|Privacy statement|Site map

Back To Top